Faith, Fiction, & Fairytales

Writerly ramblings on books and life from teen author Hannah Ruth.


Know the Novel: Introduction

Hey all!

I’m going to answer the Know the Novel questions about my current WIP, Daughter of the King, which I started last month. It’s currently at 30K words, and I’m hoping to finish it by the end of the year.

1. What first sparked the idea for this novel?

I’m a royal fiction lover, as you know if you’ve read any of my previous posts, and Daughter of the King is inspired by the idea that, above all, we are daughters and sons of God, the one true King! The idea morphed from there into a princess who relies on her father for everything, but when her world falls apart, she’s forced to rely on God instead.

2. Share a blurb (or just an overall summary)!

Have I written a blurb? *searches folders* Nope. I have a scene list… a 1,500 word synopsis… and no real blurb. So I guess today is the day! Forgive me if it isn’t quite as refined as it should be.

Princess Abigail’s life has always been under control. She is, after all, a daughter of King Joshua of Fordellia. But when a peasant revolt leads to her parents’ disappearance, Abby is suddenly thrust into a new world—and a homeless shelter.

With no choice but to accept her fate, Abby watches one person after another walk away. Her parents first, though not by their choice. The prince she’s supposed to marry, and the companion who’s been there for her through thick and thin. Her mother taught her God would never leave her… but would He stay when everyone else has gone?

As her kingdom fights for independence, her heart longs for something—Someone—she can depend on. And when she gets what she thought she wanted, will she return to her old life, or will she discover a new dream?

3. Where does the story take place? What are some of your favorite aspects of the setting?

Fordellia is a tiny kingdom in future England, ruled by King Joshua and Queen Sophia… my worldbuilding still needs work, but here are some of my favorite settings:

  • The bridge in the woods; Tristan’s hideaway, which he shares with Abby.
  • Ummm, the castle!! What’s not to love about an old stone castle, endless wardrobes, and opulant furnishings!
  • It’s fall, so the beautiful leaves and trees in the forest, for sure.

4. Tell us about your protagonist(s).

Abby is the only POV character for Daughter of the King, which is different than my usual two. Abby is your traditional, cliched snotty princess, but she loves her parents and her family, even if (especially at the beginning) she has a hard time seeing past herself.

Abby is incredible at casting an image on the outside when all she wants to do is shrivel. She’s dignified and proud, and it takes a whole lot of work to break down her walls. The further I get into writing, the more I love her, because she’s changing, folks! She’s growing! She’s becoming a better person, and I love her for it.

5. Who (or what) is the antagonist?

The antagonist is, in a sense, the rebellion/rebels that take over the castle and end life as Abby knows it. There’s no particular person, though Abby discovers that some of her close friends are indeed “enemies” in that sense.

6. What excites you the most about this novel?

The message. That we are all daughters of the King, and that should be the most important part of our identity. It’s empowering to think of ourselves that way, isn’t it? And we know that if we lose everything, we’ll still have our Heavenly Father. What a blessed assurance.

7. Is this going to be a series? standalone? something else?

As of right now… standalone. Though I have some ideas for a couple more books!

8. Are you plotting? pantsing? plansting?

Plantsing. I started with a scene list and synopsis… and it’s changed a lot since then. I’m sticking with the basic plot still, but the details fill in as I go!

9. Name a few unique elements in this story.

  • Princess ends up in a homeless shelter. That’s pretty unique in and of itself.
  • A not-evil but also not-friendly half sister.
  • Maybe not unique… but the love interest is in cowboy boots!
  • There is going to be a bike ride! I’m so excited!

10. Share some fun “extras” of the story (a song or full playlist, some aesthetics, a collage, a Pinterest board, a map you’ve made, a special theme you’re going to incorporate, ANYTHING you want to share!).

“I’m supposed to be a princess. Supposed to live in the castle, see my parents every day, and stay busy with manifold public engagements. Supposed to marry Prince Adrian and unite Fordellia and Ikswor into the greatest kingdom in the western hemisphere. Supposed to have a perfect family and life, supposed to have my future under control.

And now all those things that defined my very existence are gone, whether only for today or forever.”

That’s all for today, folks!

What do you think? I hope you enjoyed this introduction to my story, and I’ll see you tomorrow for my regularly scheduled Wednesday post.



8 responses to “Know the Novel: Introduction”

  1. Royal fiction!! I, too, adore royal fiction. It’s so engaging. And this sounds like such an incredible one! I love the theme you’re exploring, of us being daughters of the King. It really is just an awe-inspiring realization, isn’t it?

    I just love all of this! Thank you so much for joining Know the Novel and sharing with us. I hope the writing goes well! 😀

    Like

    1. Thank you! I hope the same for you! I just can’t get enough of royal fiction… and I have way too many ideas for it. This is a very different project from my last few, but I’m having a lot of fun!

      Like

  2. Good luck with your novel. This sounds interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Do you mind if I do this?? 😀 This looks awesome!

    Like

    1. Of course! You can’t add your link to the linkup for Part 1 at this point, but Part 2 is open! Even without the linkup, nobody can stop you from answering the questions! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. YES I LOVE ROYAL FICTION!!!!!! This novel idea sounds AMAZING and you’ve definitely got me hooked! I love how the message is about finding our identity in Christ, a powerful message that I think is really needed in today’s society where people are so desperate for an identity but they’re all looking in the wrong places. I LOVE the aesthetic and that it’s set in like a future version of England! So intriguing! (Also I am so here for the love interest being in cowboy boots!) I hope writing has been going fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! It has been! I’m almost done, and it’s so exciting! And yesss, Tristan is my FAVORITE.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Newsletter

Join 75 other subscribers

Receive new posts to your inbox!

Subscribe now to get an email every time I post!

Continue Reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started